Resolving Dissonance

A great WordPress.com site

Keeping Students Organized

on February 13, 2013

CAM00398For my regular education classes (not honors) it’s pretty easy for them to keep track of what we are doing.  We just go in order of the book except for rare occasions.

For my honors classes sometimes we will do two lessons in one day, or do them out of order, or take time off from book lessons and do something else.

I’ve always had the students write what we are doing each day in their planner and in their notes (if we took notes).  It’s a requirement in our school that we state an objective for each day clearly for the students.  On my first evaluation one of the things I was marked down for was not having the objective posted, and just when I was projecting my copy of the notes apparently doesn’t count, even though I was told it would when I asked…   I’d get over it a lot easier if that evaluation didn’t impact what I am paid 😦  Oh well, evaluations = different pet peeve.  So, moving on, not only does the objective go in planners and on notes, it needs to be posted during the full class time.

One of the teachers has an extra whiteboard in the back of his room where he just writes everything at the beginning of the day.  But I only have one white board. One of the teachers writes hers at the side of the white board, but it looks cluttered and messy with 6 different classes listed up there.  One of them has laminated papers on a bulletin board, and that’s kind of where I got my idea.

My solution was to cut out large pieces of paper and laminate them.  I have one for each class.  Color coded of course 🙂  Everything for my classes is color coded.  6 classes: Pink, Orange, Yellow, Green, Blue, Purple.

On the papers I have a place for their power up (bell starter), daily question(s), and their homework.  Its working really well!  I have everything written for the students, they know where to find it, they have no excuse for doing the wrong lesson, it keeps my board uncluttered, and it still allows me time to meet the students at the door instead of standing up front writing when they come in.

Leave a Reply

